Webinar: Decentralization in Latin America and the Caribbean: Reforms on the horizon

LAC Knowledge Week, July 27-28, 2022

Although some countries in Latin America and the Caribbean are among the most decentralized in the world, there is considerable variation within the region with respect to their level of decentralization. In different countries, contrasting forces, some leading to increased centralization and some to greater decentralization, are producing an ongoing restructuring of the public sector. This webinar will highlight the experiences of Chile, Colombia and Peru, each of which—in their own way—are in the process of reforming their system of intergovernmental relations towards greater decentralization. Presentations and discussions will not only highlight the technical details of the reforms being envisioned, but will consider the political economy drivers behind the decentralization reforms on the horizon.

(Spanish/English interpretation will be provided for this webinar.)

Thursday, July 28, 2022: 10 am NYC/DC (9 am Lima, 10 am La Paz, 11 am Buenos Aires)

TopicContributor
Introduction to Webinar SessionJuan Luis Gomez, IADB (Moderator)
Reforms on the horizon in ChileTBD
Reforms on the horizon in Colombia
TBD
Reforms on the horizon in PeruTBD
Discussion / Q & AModerator, audience, and panelists


This webinar is part of the Local Public Sector Alliance Knowledge Week on Decentralization and Local Development in Latin America & the Caribbean