The United States of America, commonly known as the United States, is a federal country primarily located in North America. It consists of 50 states, a federal capital district, and five major unincorporated territories. Most Americans have more frequent contact with their state and local governments than with the federal government. Schools, libraries, police and fire departments, housing services, parks and recreation services, emergency medical services, municipal courts, public transportation, streets, and other public works usually fall under the responsibility of state and local governments. Subnational government officials in the United States are generally highly empowered to respond to the needs and priorities of their constituents across all levels of the multilevel governance system.

Subnational governance structure

Nature of subnational governance institutions

Functional assignments

LoGICA Score Card

LoGICA Assessments

LoGICA Intergovernmental Profile: USA 2022 (PDF / Excel)

Additional resources

Local Government Autonomy in the United States of America (Boex and Wolman, 2021)

United States of America Country Profile (World Observatory on Subnational Governance and Investment, OECD/UCLG)

Local government country profile: United States of America (UN Women)

United States of America: Country Profile (Forum of Federations)

Back to Local Public Sector Alliance Intergovernmental Profiles – Country Page

Last updated: September 24, 2023