Webinar: The outlook of decentralization and intergovernmental fiscal relations in Latin America and the Caribbean

LAC Knowledge Week, June 27-28, 2022

Decentralization and subnational finance are important policy topics in Latin America and the Caribbean, as the region is among the most decentralized in the world. With this in mind, the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) and the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) recently launched The Outlook of Fiscal Relations between Levels of Government in Latin America and the Caribbean, presenting country profiles as well as regional and national analyses of subnational public finances for 26 countries in the region. In addition to the Outlook, the Inter-American Development Bank recently launched its Subnational Fiscal Data Platform, with the aim to make available to the research community and the interested public the largest amount of fiscal data at the local and intermediate government level for Latin America and the Caribbean. The presentation of the outlook of decentralization in Latin America and the Caribbean and an overview of IADB’s subnational fiscal platform will be followed by a discussion on lessons from the LAC region for other global regions.

(Spanish/English interpretation will be provided for this webinar.)

Wednesday, July 27, 2022: 10 am NYC/DC (9 am Lima, 10 am La Paz, 11 am Buenos Aires)

TopicContributor
Introduction to Webinar SessionAdrian Fozzard, World Bank (moderator)
The outlook of decentralization in Latin America and the Caribbean (and IADB’s subnational fiscal platform)Axel Radics, IADB
Francisco Vazquez Ahued, IADB
Discussant remarks
TBD
Discussant remarksTBD
Discussion / Q & AModerator, audience, and panelists


This webinar is part of the Local Public Sector Alliance Knowledge Week on Decentralization and Local Development in Latin America & the Caribbean